Server Move

Discussion in 'Announcements & Feedback' started by Ian, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    At some point in the next week (between 5th-12th April), we'll be moving the 3D Forums from the current server to a nice shiny new one :D.

    It should be a little bit faster, but the main reason for the move is to make sure that we're able to keep current with PHP/MySQL releases that run the forum software.

    The move should be relatively painless, with perhaps ~30 mins or so when I'll need to "freeze" the site so that no content is lost during the move. Once that is done, it will take some time for DNS servers to catch up with the new server location... however I will do my best to make sure that the old server can share the new database so this isn't a problem.

    Once I know a little more about when the move will take place, I'll post more here. I'm going to try and wait for a quiet time when not many people are online and then pounce :).
     
    Ian, Apr 4, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    Cant upload pictures at the moment is it any thing to do with this.

    mike
     
    mike, Apr 7, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    I get this message There was a problem uploading your file. its only 800kb
     
    mike, Apr 7, 2013
    #3
  4. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    Still the same i have tried a different smaller file with no luck,even logged out and back in.

    mike
     
    mike, Apr 8, 2013
    #4
  5. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Mike, sorry for the delay in replying - I've been so busy moving some of the other sites in the move. This could be related, so I'll have a good look into this.

    What sort of filetype was it that you were trying to upload? I'll do a test upload with a .jpg in this post to see if it works at this end.
     

    Attached Files:

    Ian, Apr 10, 2013
    #5
  6. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    It looks like the file uploaded ok for me - could you try again please and see if it works now? I've had a look at the limits and an 800kb file should be ok :).
     
    Ian, Apr 10, 2013
    #6
  7. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    Still will not work i get a black box with this message

    The following error occurred

    There was a problem uploading your file.

    029post.jpg
     
    mike, Apr 10, 2013
    #7
  8. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Mike, I'll message you my e-mail address - perhaps if you e-mail it over to me I can try it from this end and I'll see what the problem is :).
     
    Ian, Apr 10, 2013
    #8
  9. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks Ian will do that.

    mike
     
    mike, Apr 10, 2013
    #9
  10. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Mike, I've tried to upload that file and it works ok - I've attached it to this post.

    I think your DNS cache may not have updated, so your computer is still trying to use the old server. You may be able to solve this by flushing your dns cache - if you're using Windows you can run "ipconfig /flushdns" from the Start > Run menu. It will take about a second and it should mean that your computer will look for the right DNS server once you've restarted the PC.

    The old server turns off on Sunday, which should force an update anyway. I can only assume this must be the problem as the upload worked ok when I tried it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Ian, Apr 10, 2013
    #10
  11. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ian i may try that but the way things work for me i could just leave it until after Sunday to see if it sorts itself.

    mike
     
    mike, Apr 11, 2013
    #11
  12. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've turned the old server off a little early to see if that helps, so it should hopefully work for you now :).
     
    Ian, Apr 13, 2013
    #12
  13. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    Still no luck,ime running 7 and tried to follow instructions for finding the start run but with no luck,it would seam ime stuck
     
    mike, Apr 14, 2013
    #13
  14. Ian

    mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    The problem is my end, I normally run firefox and cant upload through it so I tried IE and as you can see it worked, no idea why they are side by side though.Strange using IE once looks to have sorted firefox
     
    mike, Apr 14, 2013
    #14
  15. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh that's good news :D. Thanks for reporting back with the fix!
     
    Ian, Apr 15, 2013
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...